Bay County Conservation and Gun Club was started in 1938 on the land that is currently Bay Valley Hotel and Resort on Old Bridge Road in Bay County. The club house, along with skeet and trap fields were built in the early 1940’s.
In 1973, the old Hayward farm of 400 acres on Rogers Road was purchased for the site of a new club.In 1974, a new club with skeet and trap fields were built.
In September of 1993 a 34′ by 60′ addition was added to the original club house. In July of 1997, the original part of the club house was completely remodeled into a modern kitchen. Prior to this remodeling, the small garage that sat 50 feet to the south of the club house served as a part time kitchen, housing the grill, deep fryer and refrigerator. We lost the garage along with the entire contents of tools, machinery and kitchen to an arson fire in late fall of 1999. From membership dues and select cut timber monies, a new 40′ by 80′ storage building was built to the north of the #1 original skeet field. This field is a regulation skeet field.
In winter of 2002/2003 a 5 Stand set up was complete with 8 different presentations of targets, this adding a dual purpose of this field.
The fall of 2003, saw the expansion of our 50 bird clays course into a circular course with a wider variety of target presentation now able to be thrown.
Ten automatic traps along with an additional course in August of 2004, rounded out our clays course to 100 birds. The Rifle Range now boasts a 20ft by 60ft shooting pavilion, thanks to the generous donation of one of our members in May, 2007.